Skip to main content

Date posted: 29 March 2022

Waverley to have new ward boundaries

Waverley is set to have new boundaries for its council wards.

The Local Government Boundary Commission is the independent body that draws these boundaries. It has reviewed Waverley to make sure councillors will represent about the same number of electors, and that ward arrangements will help the council work effectively.

The Commission has published final recommendations for changes in Waverley. It says residents should be represented by 50 councillors. This is seven fewer than the current arrangements. There will be five three-councillor wards,16 two-councillor wards and three one-councillor wards across the council area.  

Publishing the recommendations Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said:

“We are very grateful to people in Waverley. We looked at all the views they gave us. They helped us improve our earlier proposals. We believe the new arrangements will guarantee electoral fairness while maintaining local ties.” 

The Commission has made further changes to its earlier proposals. Details can be found on its website at: Changes in response to what local people said include: 

The Commission has amended the warding pattern for Farnham, which provides for eight two-councillor wards.

The Commission is recommending a single-councillor Chiddingfold ward on the basis of community evidence it received.

Parliament now needs to agree the changes. The new arrangements will then apply for the 2023 council elections.  

Categories: Council News

Theme picker

Loading theme