Waverley Design Awards

The Waverley Design Awards celebrate good design in planning, architecture, sustainable development and landscaping.

The deadline for entering the Design Awards has now passed.

Projects need to have been completed between 1 April 2015 and 30 September 2018.


New Buildings

This includes private or commercial new builds of various sizes. This can include affordable housing schemes, housing estates and individual houses or extensions, as well as office or industrial buildings and shops. More than one award can be made in this category and Waverley is particularly interested to see smaller schemes represented (such as home extensions).

Public Buildings

This category seeks to recognise those buildings that are accessible by the public and make a significant contribution to both the built environment and wider community. These buildings are not necessarily in public ownership. Examples could include doctors’ surgeries, community centres, village halls, leisure centres, sports pavilions, theatres or schools.

Conversions, alterations and refurbishment

This award covers projects which help to preserve and enhance the character of buildings and their settings. This category can include works to historic buildings and shopfronts but do not include extensions or new build.

Environmental Enhancement

Any type of project which improves the character of an area, such as landscaping schemes, public realm improvements and public art can be submitted for this award. The category covers both accessible areas and private landscaped gardens; however it does not include new buildings.

Community Award

This award seeks to recognise developments or local organisations that have contributed to the built or natural environment.

People’s Choice Award

All schemes shortlisted in the new build and public buildings categories will be put forward for the public to decide their favourite development of 2018.

Overall Design Award Winner

An independent panel of judges will choose this award from the winners of all the categories.

Enter Design Awards

The closing date for entries was 30 November 2018.

Nominate a project

The closing date for nominations was 16 November 2018.


Date What
29 October - 16 November Nominate a project 
29 October - 30 November Enter the Design Awards
21 January  - 15 February People's Choice Award voting
14 March Design Awards ceremony

More information

Previous winners


Conditions of entry

Page owner: Sarah Wells. Last updated: 17/01/2019 14:11

We use cookies to improve your experience. By viewing our content you are accepting the use of cookies. Read about cookies we use.