The role of Mayor is a non-political post and the Mayor is the civic head of the Council. Within the borough, the Mayor is second in precedence only to royalty and the Queen's representative, the Lord Lieutenant. On Waverley premises the Mayor takes precedence over all except the Queen. This high standing is mainly one of honour and dignity, rather than actual legal powers. The Mayor acts as an 'ambassador' for the council and as Chairman at its meetings.


Current Mayor of Waverley

The Mayor of Waverley from May 2018 to May 2019 is Councillor Denise Le Gal.



Farnham Hale and Heath End


Denise was first elected to Waverley Borough Council in 2007 and re-elected in 2015.

Denise was a Surrey County Councillor from 2009-2017. She serves the local community as a Trustee Director of the Cothill Trust, which Barfield School is part of. 


Denise has raised two children, Nicholas and Natalie, who are pursuing their own careers in London and Sheffield.

Her hobbies and interests include cooking for family and friends, walks with her dog, tennis and gemology.


Originally from Canada, Denise has a BA from Carleton University. She left Canada in 1985 to complete an MBA at INSEAD and subsequently pursued a career in banking at Salomon Brothers, Chase Manhattan and IBJ. As well as being Chair of Brunel Pension Partnership Ltd, Denise is Chairman of the LGA’s Local Government Pension Committee (LGPC) and Board Member LGPS Scheme Advisory Board. In another capacity, Denise is a Trustee Director of the JP Morgan UK Retirement Plan. 


The Mayor's Chosen Charity is ABF The Soldiers’ Charity, which supports soldiers and veterans from the British Army, and their immediate families, when they are in need.

The charity makes grants to individuals through their Regiments and Corps and supports a wide range of specialist charities that sustain the British Army ‘family’, both at home and around the world.


The Deputy Mayor is Mary Foryszewski.


Page owner: . Last updated: 29/05/2018 14:08